Posted in Animals, Daily Life

Homemade Chick Brooder

Did you know that you can get all the parts you need for a chick brooder at Walmart?  I didn’t which is why I purchased a heat lamp over the internet (just like I purchased chicks) but I went to Wally World in search of a plastic container to turn into the box portion of my chick brooder since my peeps will be arriving next week and discovered they also sell heat lamp bulbs, lamps, etc.  I think you could do the whole set up for under $30.

So I cut the middle of the top off the rubbermaid type plastic container (which I made sure could lock securely) and replaced what I removed with chicken wire.  Normally I would have used heavy duty staples but I couldn’t find our staple gun so instead I poked holes in around the plastic lid and fed the wire ends from the chicken wire through and bent them with pliers to secure them.  I will also add duct tape to cover the wires for added security and to reduce the scratching potential of the wire ends.

I have done a test run and found that the heat lamp (100 watt red) heats the floor of the box to the prescribed 95 degrees Fahrenheit the chicks require their first week.  Since we are suppose to lower the temperature by 5 degrees per week, we can either set up the lamp on some kind of a dimmer switch or we can raise the lamp up higher.  Even though a dimmer will add a bit to the cost, I think it will make up for it in the energy saved so we’ll go with this option.  I think there are some extension cords you can buy with a dimmer built right in and I can keep the light sitting right on the chicken wire.  I think I may even secure it to the chicken wire so it can’t fall off when reaching in to tend to the little peeps.

The real question comes in addressing the issues of when they can be moved to the outside chicken coop.  We have picked out coop out which comes flat-packed but have not purchased it yet.  I suspect there will be a period of time where I’m ready for them to NOT be in the house/brooder anymore but where they are NOT ready to be out yet.  Are we talking about chicks or teenagers?  Just kidding… I can’t imagine not wanting my boys in the house no matter how stinky and annoying they might get.  The chicks on the other hand are a different story.  I have the feeling that they won’t need to get very stinky or annoying before they need their own house/coop.  There is a very good chance we’ll end up moving the heat lamp outside to the coop when that time comes probably around 4 weeks.  Did ya read that Mom… they’ll be out of the house when you get here for Christmas.

I do have very, very sad news.  The pandemonium of our household turned out to be a death sentence for the bunny.  I feel just terrible!  Bazil seems to have been the culprit (the cats were outside) but didn’t seem to understand what happened and spent the remainder of the evening looking for the bunny with a genuinely concerned look on his face.  Now I am in fear for the chickies.  The plan is that they will either be kept up on a table or in the laundry room (where the door swings out and can’t be pushed open by a dog) to keep them out of harms way.    As the chicks get older and eventually get free range of the back yard, they will without doubt be able to outrun Bazil and his well intended but overwhelming curiosity.  With the chicks, I’m most concerned about Zues the great orange hunter but everything I’ve read says that full grown chickens can hold their own against a cat.  I really hope so.

I still have 5 chicks left to find a home for so please let me know if you’re interested.  The freshest, best tasting eggs I’ve ever had will be available this Spring… I can’t wait.  There is a small farm on the West Bank that has volunteered to take any leftovers but I’d much rather see these chicks go to loving homes.

Author:

Adventurer!

5 thoughts on “Homemade Chick Brooder

  1. How did the brooder work for you? How large a container did you use and how many chicks did you put in it? How long did it take them to outgrow the brooder?

    I’m just getting ready to try my hand at raising chickens. My coop is ready to be delivered next weekend, but I’m split between raising chicks myself so that they are all the same age or getting pullets which might vary a couple of weeks in age.

    Thanks!

    1. The brooder worked great. We used a container that was about 18″ by about 30″ cutting out the top and inserting the chicken wire. We had about 18 chicks initially but a friend of mine took 10 leaving us with enough room to keep them for several weeks. Once we moved them into the coop, we moved the heat lamp into the coop too. That kept them toasty warm until they were fully feathered but we would still bring out the heat lamp on very cold nights to keep the girls comfortable.

      1. Okay, my status as novice is going to show! I thought chicks were supposed to stay in a brooder for 5-6 weeks minimum. But it looks like you can move them to the coop before that time as long as they have the heat lamp. Is that the deal? Thanks!!!!!

      2. Sorry for the delay in responding… yes, you can move them to the coop but make sure that the heat source gets moved with them.

Leave a comment